BREAKING: Fayemi defeats Fayose’s deputy


Kayode Fayemi has emerged winner of the 2018 governorship election in Ekiti state.

Fayemi, who contested on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), defeated Kolapo Olusola of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Unlike the last governorship election in the state when he lost in all the 16 local government areas, Fayemi secured victory in 12 local government areas, leaving Olusola with four LGAs.

The APC candidate polled 197,459 votes while his closest rival had 178,121 votes, a margin of 19,338.

Olusola won in only Efon Alaye, Emure, Ikere and Ado-Ekiti.

The collation officers in all the local government areas announced the results at the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Ado-Ekiti, the state capital.

Abdulganiyu Raji, the resident electoral commission (REC) in Ekiti, Idowu Olayinka, vice chancellor of the University of Ibadan and returning officer of the election, are putting finishing touches to the exercise ahead of the declaration of the winner.

Meanwhile, an agent of the PDP at the collation centre has called for the cancellation of the election.

He alleged that the exercise was not free and fair because it was militarised but his APC counterparts disagreed, saying the election reflected the will of the people.

Below is a table on the result of the election in all the local government areas.

1 Ido- Osi 12342 11145
2 Oye 14995 11271
3 Ilejemeje 4153 3937
4 Irepodun-Ifelodun 13869 11456
5 Gbonyi 11498 8027
6 Efon-Alaaye 5028 5192
7 Moba 11837 8520
8 Ijero 14192 11077
9 Emure 7048 7121
10 Ikere 11515 17183
11 Ekiti West 12648 10137
12 Ikole 14522 13961
13 Ise-Orun 11908 6297
14 Ekiti East 12778 11564
15 Ekiti South-West 11015 8423
16 Ado-Ekiti 28111 32810
Total  197,459  178, 121

(The Cable)

About Parrot Nigeria

An online news aggregator

View all posts by Parrot Nigeria →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Whatsapp BC list