Fidelity Advert

Lagos Suspends RTEAN Activities After Iyana Iba Clash

Lagos Suspends RTEAN Activities After Iyana Iba Clash %Post Title

Activities of another transport union have been halted by the Lagos State Government.

This time around, it is the Road Transport Employers’ Association of Nigeria (RTEAN) which suffered the hammer of the government.

The government took the decision following pockets of violence recorded in Ojo and Lagos Island by members of the transport union.

This is the second transport union that would be suspended by the government after it banned the activities of the main body, the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) following intractable crisis.

Daily Trust reports that following the crisis, the RTEAN had made a move to douse the tension by swiftly suspending its Lagos State Vice Chairman, Mr Oluwaseyi Bamgbose, popularly known as ‘Student’ for allegedly instigating unrest in the association.

Its National President, Alhaji Musa Muhammed, announced the suspension in a statement earlier in the day through the National Publicity Secretary of the union, Alhaji Abdulrahman Amusan.

Muhammed who is also the Lagos State Chairman of RTEAN, said stated that Bamgbose had earlier in the day organised a protest at Alausa Secretariat which he described as illegal.

He stated that the intention and plot of Bamgbose was to cause trouble so that the State Government would regard the “peaceful association” as uncoordinated and subsequently place a ban on its activities.

And true to their suspicion, the government suspended all activities of RTEAN with immediate effect.

The Special Adviser to the Governor on Transportation, Hon. Sola Giwa said the suspension became imperative following the violence.

He said a 35- Man Caretaker Committee had been constituted to take over activities of the Union. The committee is headed by Hon. Sulaiman Adeshina Raji with Bamgbose Oluseyi as Deputy Chairman.

Other members of the Committee include; Sunday Aransiola, Sulaiman Onabanjo, Azeez Abdulrahman, Isiaka Seriki, Victor Ifemenam, Kareem Babatunde, Amusan Abdulrahman, Teslim Adeshina, Sulaiman Surajudeen and Fatai Rauf,

Others are; Sunday Banjo, Segun Omole, Thomas Akinkayode, Taiwo Lasisi, Gbenga Kashimawo, Samson Ajala, Taiwo Daodu, Sule Aliu, Ahmed Musa and Oladipupo Ibrahim. Adewale Adeniyi, Olatunji Durojaiye, Wasiu Olanrewaju, Taofeek Onileola, Yusuf Afolabi, Bode Ogungbade, Alh. A.A. Ussaini, Saliu Usman, Saheed Badru, Kolawole Yusuf, Kayode Thomas, Idowu Oyewole and Salami Babatunde Ope are to also join them.

Giwa reiterated that suspension becomes necessary to prevent further acts of violence in the State, stressing that men of the Lagos State Police Command will be deployed across the State to enforce the suspension and ensure safety of lives and properties.

The National President could not be reached for comment as of press time. (Daily Trust)

League of boys banner

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.